Living Walls

PROJECT

In our AlgBioga project, we are researching solar biogas production using phototrophic bacteria as an innovative, climate-friendly alternative to a conventional energy supply. Our solar gas plants should enable the end consumer to produce biogas for their own energy household and independent of vegetable biomass. In a two-stage process, pure biomethane is produced from sunlight, CO2, O2 and some trace elements. This should enable the consumer to save energy and costs and to supply energy self-sufficiently.. The consumer is not only to be made independent of the price fluctuations of the market, but he is to be even actively involved in the energy cycle.

INNOVATION

So far, there are only a few ways of generating one's own energy for the household independently of conventional fuel supplies. Solar technology consisting of solar thermal and photovoltaic systems is the most widespread. Conventional biogas plants, on the other hand, are unprofitable and unaffordable for the average household due to the necessary procurement of biomass. Heat pumps are only able to relieve existing heating systems after high investment costs and thus save heating costs. Solar thermal energy has not yet developed sufficient heat accumulators. Photovoltaics and wind power have in common that on the one hand the electricity cannot be converted effectively into heat and on the other hand the electricity itself cannot be stored well. With existing storage systems, high investment costs coupled with low capacity and technical complexity are usually a challenge for the end user.

In solving this problem, the production of biogas using phototrophic and methanogenic microalgae or bacteria is an innovative and promising approach. Biogas is best suited as an energy source for self-sufficiency, as it burns in a climate-neutral way due to the photosynthetic CO2 fixation that precedes it and is the easiest energy to store. Currently, biogas is obtained from the fermentation of plants that have to be cultivated on fields beforehand. The area used for this is in direct competition with food production and the biogas produced still has to be transported to the end consumer in an energy-intensive way. In addition, the biogas produced by the fermentation of the plants is contaminated by nitrogen oxides, NH3 and sulphur compounds.

Play Video

In contrast, the system underlying this project is not based on the ineffective construction of biomass, from which energy is obtained by fermentation or chemical conversion, but on the use of microorganisms as molecular power plants. These enable the production of pure biomethane, thus eliminating the need for costly purification. In addition, by using a combination of phototrophic cyanobacteria and methanogenic bacteria, the biogas can be obtained and stored directly by the consumer, so that no energy-intensive transport is necessary.

ERDF FUNDING

The project "AlgBioga - Research into an algae biofilm plant for urban industrial-urban biogas production" (project duration: 08/2017 to 10/2019) is funded by the Berlin Programme for Sustainable Development (BENE) with funds from the European Fund for Regional Development and the State of Berlin (funding number 1183-B5-0).

Close Menu
en_GB
de_DE en_GB

Solaga

Lebende Wände

Projekt

In unserem Projekt AlgBioga forschen wir an solarer Biogasgewinnung mit Hilfe phototropher Bakterien als innovative, klimafreundliche Alternative zur herkömmlichen Energieversorgung. Unsere Solargasanlagen sollen es dem Endverbraucher ermöglichen, selbständig und unabhängig von pflanzlicher Biomasse Biogas für den eigenen Energiehaushalt zu produzieren. In einem zweistufigen Prozess entsteht reines Biomethan aus Sonnenlicht, CO2, O2 und einigen Spurenelementen. Dadurch soll der Verbraucher befähigt werden, Energie- sowie Beschaffungskosten zu sparen und sich autark selbst mit Energie zu versorgen. Der Verbraucher soll damit nicht nur unabhängig von den Preisschwankungen des Marktes gemacht werden, sondern er soll sogar aktiv an der Energiewende beteiligt sein.

Innovation

Um seine eigene Energie für den Haushalt unabhängig von Brennstofflieferungen zu gewinnen, gibt es bisher nur wenige Möglichkeiten. Am weitesten verbreitet ist die Solartechnik bestehend aus Solarthermie und Photovoltaik. Konventionelle Biogasanlagen hingegen sind wegen der erforderlichen Biomassebeschaffung für den durchschnittlichen Haushalt unrentabel und unerschwinglich. Wärmepumpen sind nach hohem Investitionsaufwand nur in der Lage bestehende Heizsysteme zu entlasten und somit Heizkosten einzusparen. Die Solarthermie hat noch keine ausreichenden Wärmespeicher entwickelt. Photovoltaik und Windkraft haben gemeinsam, dass einerseits der Strom nicht effektiv in Wärme umgewandelt werden kann und andererseits der Strom selbst nicht gut gespeichert werden kann. Bei bestehenden Speichersystemen sind meist hohe Investitionskosten gepaart mit geringer Kapazität und technischer Komplexität eine Herausforderung für den Endverbraucher.

Bei der Lösung dieses Problems ist die Herstellung von Biogas mithilfe phototropher und methanogener Mikroalgen respektive Bakterien ein innovativer und vielversprechender Ansatz. Als Energieträger für die Eigenversorgung ist Biogas am besten geeignet, da es herstellungsbedingt auf Grund der vorangegangenen photosynthetischen CO2-Fixierung klimaneutral verbrennt und am einfachsten speicherbar ist. Derzeit wird Biogas aus der Vergärung von Pflanzen gewonnen, die auf Feldern zuvor kultiviert werden müssen. Die dabei benutzte Fläche steht in direkter Konkurrenz zur Lebensmittelproduktion und das erzeugte Biogas muss noch energieintensiv zum Endverbraucher transportiert werden. Darüber hinaus ist das durch die Vergärung der Pflanzen gebildete Biogas verunreinigt durch Stickoxide, NH3 und Schwefelverbindungen.

Video abspielen

Demgegenüber beruht das diesem Projekt zugrunde liegende System nicht auf dem ineffektiven Aufbau von Biomasse, aus welcher durch Vergärung oder durch chemische Umwandlung Energie gewonnen wird, sondern auf der Nutzung von Mikroorganismen als molekulare Kraftwerke. Diese ermöglichen die Gewinnung von reinem Biomethan, wodurch eine aufwendige Aufreinigung entfällt. Außerdem kann durch den Einsatz der Kombination phototropher Cyanobakterien und methanogener Bakterien das Biogas direkt beim Verbraucher gewonnen und gespeichert werden, sodass kein energieintensiver Transport notwendig ist.

EFRE-Förderung

Das Vorhaben “AlgBioga – Erforschung einer Algenbiofilmanlage zur urbanen industriell-städtischen Biogasproduktion” (Projektlaufzeit: 08/2017 bis 10/2019) wird im Berliner Programm für Nachhaltige Entwicklung (BENE) gefördert aus Mitteln des Europäischen Fonds für Regionale Entwicklung und des Landes Berlin (Förderkennzeichen 1183-B5-0).

Menü schließen